When did it get to December 23rd?

It only seems like yesterday that we were all moaning about how it’s too early to put up the Christmas tree and I had ages to pick up Christmas presents. Well how on earth did it get to the day before Christmas Eve?

Even though I’ve spent the last five weekends festively buying, baking and wrapping gifts, I still feel like I’m nowhere near ready. The fridge is remarkably empty, even despite Saturday’s big shop. And yesterday I suddenly realised that while I’d spent ages picking people’s gifts I didn’t have anything for my other half. And I’m working until Christmas Eve. And the world was rapidly disappearing under 2 feet of snow!

Every year I find that somehow Christmas unexpectedly sneaks up on me. I don’t know how – it’s on the same day every year.

However, I am very much looking forward to it. To giving presents and eating my mum’s home cooked food (although there is a rumour going round that my brother is being head chef this year – I wait with baited breath).
Next year I assume I’ll be cooking the turkey myself and so my plan is to get organised. To start stocking the new fridge freezer (the aptly spacious Beko CDA543FW) in September and to not just buy Christmas cards, but to actually write and send them! Alternatively, next Christmas I’ll be sitting here bemoaning the fact that there’s no time to do anything, and still not enough hours in the day – 24 is not enough! Plus next Christmas I’ll also have an eight month old baby to add to the mix.

So I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year – I hope you’re all more ready than me. In the mean time, if you have any tips I’m all ears!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

